book tags · Books

A-Z Bookish Survey

Hi guys,

I’m back after a little over a week away from posting. I started off really well and posting really often, but maybe it was a bit much. Working full time and also being an extreeeemely lazy person made it really difficult to keep up with posting 3 times a week. It was a bit much, and maybe it was best that I figured this out so early on. Without further ado, it’s time for a tag! I saw this tag on www.perpetualpageturner.com and really wanted to get stuck into it … here goes!

🙂

Author you’ve read the most books from:

J.K Rowling … Obviously. There are so many Harry Potter books!

Best sequel ever:

The Rosie Effect – Graeme Simsion. What can I say, I may be a bit of a closeted romantic!

Currently reading:

Eliza & Her Monsters – Francesca Zappia.  This came in my May owl crate box 🙂

Drink of choice while reading:

It will usually be a full to the brim (how uncouth) glass of red wine. Sometimes, the unthinkable happens and there is no red wine in my parents’ house for me to drink so I have to settle for tea. Who buys their own wine anyway!?

The best kind of red wine = Free red wine. FACT

E-reader or physical book:

Definitely physical book. I understand how efficient and space saving an E-reader is, I just don’t feel like I can sink into a book if I’m not physically turning the pages.

Fictional character who you probably would have actually dated in high school:

Considering how moody and unapproachable I was when I was in secondary school (High school in the UK), probably still no one. Eek

Glad you gave this book a chance:

The Seven Year Dress – Paulette Mahurin. 

Hidden gem book:

The Vegetarian – Han Kang. 

Important moment in your reading life:

I guess finding Goodreads… It helps me to create goals for myself and keep track of what and how much I’m reading. It’s a bit of a motivational tool as well to get me out of a reading slump.

Just finished:

The Sun Is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon (Audible Audio book)

Kinds of books you won’t read:

I’m not a lover of psychological thriller books, but you never know  my tastes might change. I don’t think I will always be a lover of YA fiction, so who knows.

Longest book you’ve read:

Under The Dome – Stephen King  1079 Pages It was soooo long and soooo heavy (too many oooh’s! Oh well, they’re for emphasis) but it was definitely worth the time to read it. This is definitely not a “I read this in one sitting” kind of book FYI.

Major book hangover because:

This is probably a common one but We Were Liars – E. Lockhart . This book killed me.

Number of bookcases you own:

2 but I am planning on getting another one when my book collection grows enough for it to not be a waste of money. Who am I kidding? A new bookcase is never a waste of money! 

One book you have read multiple times:

Black Beauty – Anna Sewell. I remember my mum giving me an old battered copy of this book years ago. I think she read it when she was in school. I’ve read this book so many times I’ve had to buy another copy to read so the old one doesn’t completely disintegrate.

Preferred place to read:

I like to read while sat in the back garden during summer. Failing that, just in my bedroom … I got a new chair to read in but it turns out that I actually bought an expensive cat bed instead. My cat reminds me of this fact every damn day. Bitch.

Quote that inspires you/ gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality. – Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Reading regret:

Not reading enough when I was in school, so much lost time! D=

Series you started and need to finish (all books are out in series):

I’m not sure that any of the series that I have started are all out yet. :/ But the one I am most looking forward to finish as of now is the sinners series by Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki. I read the first book, Branded so long ago now but I am excited to continue with the series.

Three of your all time favourite books:

  1. A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute. This book will ALWAYS be my favourite. I remember getting an edition from a charity shop for 50p. This is the book that gave me my love of reading. It really transported me into another world and is just such an amazing book.
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood. I love this book. I used to hate it when I had to study it in A-Level english Literature but since leaving school and re-reading the book in my own time and without the pressure of analysing every word, I love it. In my eyes, Margaret Atwood is the queen of literature. She can do no wrong. There is actually a TV series of this starting on Sunday and I am so so so excited!!!!! I am trying to make my mum read this book … probably a fruitless mission.
  3. Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman. This book though. The world building in this book is one of a kind. I really felt like I was in the story with the characters. If you have been living under a rock and have never read any of this authors work, start here. This book is quite simply magnificent. 

Unapologetic fan girl for:

Anything written by my queen. (See previous answer)

Very excited for this release more than all the others:

I am more than excited for the release of the next book from the Caraval series. I know it’s only just started, and I have a long wait ahead of me but it was SO GOOD! I couldn’t get enough of the first book, and can’t stand waiting!!! I may have to go back for a re-read  soon!

Worst bookish habit:

I have a ridiculously short attention span so I tend to get very distracted and when I am reading a book that I am struggling to stay interested in, if I so much as look at another book I will stop reading the book I’m struggling with and start a new one. I then proceed together stuck into the new book and completely forget about the old one until it’s too late and I’ve forgotten everything and have to completely start again.

img_0721-1

X marks the spot: Start at the top left of your bookshelf and pick the 27th book:

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles) – Marissa Meyer

Your latest purchase:

See How They Lie – Sue Wallman

ZZZ snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

The Inventor’s Secret – Andrea Cremer … and DAMNIT I’ve just realised that this is the first of another series I am yet to finish. WHY IS EVERY YA BOOK I PICK UP PART OF A SERIES!!!!?!?!?!?!

Well I hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. I found this tag on a blog called perpetualpageturner and I really think you’ll love what she has to offer on her blog; I do. Looking forward I think that if I am still blogging after years (who knows, I get distracted easily) I hope that my page will be almost half as amazing as hers is.  Go check it out!

CIYA!

Jade

x

 

Leave a Reply

