Uncategorized

Books that booktube made me buy 

I know, I have a problem. I can be quite content with my book collection and not feel the need to add to it until I watch a book tube video. I watch one haul and all of a sudden I NEED to buy all of the books mentioned.

I feel like I was quite restrained this time and only got 4 books:

Under Rose-Tainted Skies  – Lousie Gornall

This book follows the life of Norah, a 17 year old girl with agoraphobia and how one chance meeting at her doorstep with a boy changes the course of her life. From reading the blurb, it feels like it’s going to be one of those standard sappy YA romance novels, but the addition of mental illness interests me. Also what is YA without a bit of angst? Not a YA book I want to read that ‘s what it is! Also just look at the cover! It’s so damn pretty.

The Up Side of Unrequited – Becky Albertalli

Another YA book … okay all of the books are YA. I can’t help it if I love it. The Upside of Unrequited has had a few mixed reviews so I’m trying to go in with an open mind. Here’s the blurb:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

There are so many things in this blurb that make me want to read this book now. The main characters are twins. CHECK! I’m a twin! Also I love that there is so much representation for the LGBTQIA community in one book (so I have read in reviews). I’m quite intrigued by this read …

A Quiet Kind of Thunder – Sara Barnard

Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.
Their love isn’t a lightning strike, it’s the rumbling roll of thunder.

So Steffi, the main character has selective mutism, and Rhys is Deaf. She has basic sign language skills, so naturally when Rhys joins the school they are naturally buddied up. I have never read a book based on selective mutism and the topic really interests me. I have a relative who suffers from this and I’ve always wanted to understand what it’s like. Also The sign language aspect interests me as I did a level 1 British Sign Language course not long ago. I look forward to reading this.

Caraval – Stephanie Garber

I don’t actually know a lot about this book. I do know that I have seen it everywhere. Booktubers are loving it and I am loving the cover. Everytime I go to a bookshop I see it. It’s high time I got it for myself. This is another book with hella mixed reviews, some people are giving 5 stars and others are giving 2 and below.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval…beware of getting swept too far away.

I’m so excited to read all of these, and will definitely keep you informed on what I think about them once I read them.

Ciya

Jade

x

 

Leave a Reply

