Wrap Ups

April Wrap Up

April overall has been a bit of a mixed bag. I was hoping that I would get through a few more physical books as opposed to audio books, but I did get myself into a little bit of a slump. The Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon did save me a little bit. The book that got me into the slump was The Anchoress by Robyn Cadwallader. There is nothing wrong with this book and it is very well written. The thing is though, it wasn’t what I expected. I picked it up from a warehouse book sale (see my monthly bargains blog post) and stupidly didn’t read what it was about. I had not long finished reading Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley and assumed that it would me similar to this. It isn’t even remotely similar. I’m not slating the book by any means, but perhaps it just wasn’t the right time for me to read it. Ah well ….

This is what I read this month (With star ratings out of 5) and a few of my favourite things:

Physical Books

  1. Illuminae (The illuminae files #1) – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🌑
  2. Gemina (The illuminae files #2) – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  3. Magonia (Magonia #1) Maria Dahvana Headley ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🌑
  4. The Art of Being Normal – Lisa Williamson ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  5. The Wicked & The Divine #2- Fandemonium (Book 1 from Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  6. I’m Jack – Mark Blacklock (Book 2 from Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🌑
  7. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – J.K.Rowling (Book 3 from Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

TBC

The Anchoress – Robyn Cadwallader ⭐️⭐️⭐️🌑🌑 (DNF – Will pick it up again next week … can’t motivate myself to carry on with it)

Audio Books

  1. Thirteen Reason Why – Jay Asher ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  2. Parsnips, Buttered: Bamboozle and boycott modern life, one email at a time – Joe Lycett ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  3. Romeo & Jude – Marty Ross ⭐️⭐️⭐️🌑🌑
  4. Geekerella – Ashley Poston ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🌑
  5. Empress of a Thousand Skies (Empress of a Thousand Skies #1) – Rhoda Belleza ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🌑

I Netflixed and Chilled (with my cat)

Thirteen Reasons Why (Everyone at work has been watching it and I thought that I should join them). SO MANY THINGS HAPPEN IN THIS THAT DON’T HAPPEN IN THE BOOK!!!!! (Angry Face)

Favourite Album of the Month

Vessels – Starset

Apologies for the basic post, but I was worried that it would get so long that no one would want to read it all XD. If you want to know my full opinions on any of the books/audiobooks featured in this post, just comment on this post or send me an email to

booksandcrannies@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

